Biology - Catalogues and tools
 |  Ihr Konto  | myUB
Universitätsbibliothek » Biology - Catalogues and tools

Biology - Catalogues and tools

The holdings of the Biology Collection are mostly recorded in the general catalogue of the library. The online catalogue contains books and other media such as all journals, e-journals, e-books and databases. It allows direct order from our magazines, as far as required for the medium in question.

A small proportion of older titles acquired before 1914 are not yet documented in the electronic catalogue, but exclusively in a handwritten alphabetic catalogue. An overview of the historical catalogues of the Senckenberg Library was compiled by Helmut Burkhardt (Burkhardt 1992).

The Virtual Library - vifabio - provides a view of the subject-specific holdings as a section of the general catalogue. Furthermore, in vifabio the Biology Collection is virtually merged with a number of other libraries that are important for biology. A query thus not only yields results from Frankfurt, but also from the library of the Botanical Garden in Berlin-Dahlem, the library of the Senckenberg German Entomological Institute in Müncheberg or the Natural History Museum in Vienna. In vifabio the new acquisitions lists of the Biology Collection are available online.
new acquisitions lists

All journals available at the University Library Johann Christian Senckenberg, but also the journals from other libraries in Germany, are recorded in the supra-regional journal database (Zeitschriftendatenbank, ZDB). All contents of our general catalogue can also be found via the KVK (Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog) and WorldCat.
Zeitschriftendatenbank (ZDB)
KVK (Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog)
WorldCat

The indexing of the Biology Collection has undergone some changes throughout its history. Since 2006, all new entrants (so far about 44,000 bibliographic records) have been indexed according to a variant of the Dewey Decimal Classification (BioDDC). BioDDC
Up to now the search for DDC numbers in the catalogue is only possible with special search keys; please contact the subject librarian. Among the indexing systems used earlier are the Eppelsheimer method (1964-2005, see Lohse 1966) and the systematic shelving system by Schleiermacher (see Schleiermacher 1852, Stevenson 1978).



Literature

Zurück zum Seitenanfang
zuletzt geändert am 17. März 2022

Kontakt

Dr. Gerwin Kasperek
Tel: 069/ 798-39365
g.kasperek[at]ub.uni-frankfurt.de
© 2022 Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main | Impressum | Rechtliche Hinweise | Datenschutz | Cookie-Einstellungen

|  Ihr Konto  | myUB
Universitätsbibliothek » Biologie - Kataloge und Hilfsmittel

Biologie - Kataloge und Hilfsmittel

Die Bestände der Sammlung Biologie sind weitestgehend im allgemeinen Katalog der Bibliothek verzeichnet. Der Online-Katalog enthält Bücher und Medien und außerdem alle Zeitschriften, E-Zeitschriften, E-Books und Datenbanken. Er ermöglicht - soweit für das betreffende Medium erforderlich - die direkte Bestellung aus unseren Magazinen.

Ein kleiner Anteil der älteren Titel, die vor 1914 erworben wurden, sind noch nicht im elektronischen Katalog nachgewiesen, sondern ausschließlich in einem handschriftlichen alphabetischen Katalog. Eine Übersicht der historischen Kataloge der Senckenbergischen Bibliothek erstellte Helmut Burkhardt (Burkhardt 1992).

Die Virtuelle Fachbibliothek - vifabio - bietet eine Sicht auf den fachspezifischen Bestand als Ausschnitt aus dem allgemeinen Katalog. Die Sammlung Biologie wird in vifabio zudem mit einigen anderen für die Biologie wichtigen Bibliotheken virtuell zusammengeführt: Eine Recherche erbringt somit Ergebnisse nicht nur aus Frankfurt, sondern beispielsweise auch aus der Bibliothek des Botanischen Gartens in Berlin-Dahlem, der Bibliothek des Senckenberg Deutschen Entomologischen Instituts in Müncheberg oder des Naturhistorischen Museums in Wien. In vifabio können weiterhin die aktuellen Neuerwerbungen der Sammlung Biologie .

Alle an der Universitätsbibliothek Johann Christian Senckenberg vorhandenen Zeitschriften, aber auch die Zeitschriften aus anderen Bibliotheken in Deutschland, in der überregionalen Zeitschriftendatenbank (ZDB) nachgewiesen. Sämtliche Inhalte unseres allgemeinen Katalogs sind auch über den KVK (Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog) und über WorldCat auffindbar.

Die sachliche Erschließung der Sammlung unterlag im Lauf ihrer Geschichte einigen Veränderungen. Seit 2006 werden alle Neuzugänge (bislang etwa 43.000 Titeldatensätze) nach einer Variante der Dewey-Dezimalklassifikation erschlossen (BioDDC ).
Im Katalog ist die Recherche nach DDC-Notationen bisher nur mittels spezieller Suchschlüssel möglich; bitte wenden Sie sich an den für die Sammlung zuständigen Referenten. Zu den früher eingesetzten Systemen der Sacherschließung gehören die Methode Eppelsheimer (1964-2005; vgl. Lohse 1966) sowie die systematische Aufstellung nach Schleiermacher (vgl. Schleiermacher 1852; Stevenson 1978).



Literatur

Zurück zum Seitenanfang
zuletzt geändert am 11. April 2017

Kontakt

Dr. Gerwin Kasperek
Tel: 069/ 798-39365
g.kasperek@ub.uni-frankfurt.de
© 2017 Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main | Rechtliche Hinweise | Impressum