Biology - History of the collection, from 1948 to 2014
 |  Ihr Konto  | myUB
Universitätsbibliothek » Biology - History of the collection, from 1948 to 2014

Biology - History of the collection, from 1948 to 2014

© Christian Vas

Special Subject Collection 12 of the DFG: Biology, Botany, Zoology

When, in the post-war period, the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG) established a system of Special Subject Collections, the subjects of biology, botany, and zoology were assigned to the Senckenbergian Library, building on its previously formed importance as a library for descriptive sciences.
This was closely linked to the aim of acquiring, for German researchers, all availble publications relevant to research, irrespective of the geographical place of publication, as long as they were written in widely used languages.
Since 1951, the DFG co-funded the purchase of literature on a regular basis, accepting 75 percent of the costs for foreign literature. Thereby, the Biology Collection reached high growth rates. When, in the 1980s, the total of all holdings of the Senckenbergian Library surpassed 1 million volumes, it could be assumed that far more than 500,000 volumes represented biological content.

Collection profile of the Special Subject Collections

The collection profile of the Special Subject Collections comprises the following subdisciplines and research topics: general biology, anatomy and morphology of plants and animals, plant and animal physiology, cytology, histology and developmental biology; furthermore, biochemistry, biophysics, biocybernetics and molecular biology as long as related to either plants or animals, or to the comparative study of humans and plants/animals (otherwise assigned to anthropology or medicine); furthermore, genetics, evolutionary biology, ecology, biology of soils, marine biology, hydrobiology, vegetation science, community ecology, biogeography, microbiology (unless relating to medicine), systematic botany and systematic zoology (systematics and taxonomy), ethology, conservation biology, and biological aspects of environmental science.

In the year 2005, the Senckenbergian Library and the City and University Library (Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main) were merged to form one institution. The newly formed University Library Johann Christian Senckenberg continued the Special Subject Collection in biology, botany, and zoology. In the middle of the last decade, the number of biology print journals held continuously was about 3,500 (including c. 2,000 journals purchased on subscription, and c. 1,500 journals via exchange). For monographs the yearly increment was about 5,000 titles. The purchase of large parts of the Royal Garden Library Herrenhausen (Königliche Gartenbibliothek Herrenhausen) in 2007/2008 led to a significant extension of the historical holdings of botanical literature.

Virtual Library of Biology: vifabio

With the aim of enhancing visibility and accessibility of the Biology Collection the Virtual Library of Biology - vifabio - was established, co-funded by the DFG. Since 2007, library catalogue data, selected internet sites, journals, databases and full-text documents are available in one virtual location: in vifabio. Within the scope of the DFG project German botanical journals (conducted 2011-2013) more than 1,400 journal volumes from the period 1753-1914 were digitised and indexed.

Collection

Zurück zum Seitenanfang
zuletzt geändert am 17. März 2022

Kontakt

Dr. Gerwin Kasperek
Tel: 069/ 798-39365
g.kasperek[at]ub.uni-frankfurt.de
© 2022 Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main | Impressum | Rechtliche Hinweise | Datenschutz | Cookie-Einstellungen

|  Ihr Konto  | myUB
Universitätsbibliothek » Biologie - Geschichte der Sammlung von 1948 - 2014

Biologie - Geschichte der Sammlung von 1948 - 2014

© Christian Vas

Sondersammelgebiet 12 der DFG: Biologie Botanik, Zoologie

Als in der Nachkriegszeit die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) ein System von Sondersammelgebieten einrichtete, wurden der Senckenbergischen Bibliohek anknüpfend an ihre bereits zuvor herausgebildete Bedeutung für die beschreibenden Naturwissenschaften die Sondersammelgebiete Allgemeine Biologie, Botanik und Zoologie zugewiesen.
Damit war der Anspruch verbunden, alle gedruckten forschungsrelevanten Publikationen zu erwerben, die weltweit zu diesem Fachgebiet erscheinen (sofern in gängigen europäischen Sprachen verfasst).
Seit 1951 unterstützte die DFG die Erwerbung durch regelmäßige Fördermittel: Sie übernahm 75 % der Kosten für den Kauf ausländischer biologischer Literatur. Die Sammlung Biologie erreichte damit hohe Wachstumsraten. Als der Gesamtbestand der Senckenbergischen Bibliothek Mitte der Achtziger Jahre die Marke von 1 Million Bänden überschritt, konnte davon augegangen werden, dass bereits weit über 500.000 Bände biologischen Inhalt hatten.

Sammelprofil des Sondersammelgebietes

Das Sammelprofil des Sondersammelgebietes umfasste die folgenden Disziplinen und Themengebiete: Allgemeine Biologie, Anatomie und Morphologie der Tiere und Pflanzen, Tier- und Pflanzenphysiologie, Cytologie, Histologie und Entwicklungsbiologie; sodann Biochemie, Biophysik, Biokybernetik und Molekularbiologie, soweit bezogen auf eine Pflanze oder ein Tier oder auf die vergleichende Betrachtung von Mensch und Tier/Pflanze (ansonsten der Anthropologie bzw. Medizin zuzuordnen); weiterhin Genetik, Evolutionsbiologie, Deszendenztheorie, Ökologie, Bodenbiologie, Meeresbiologie, Hydrobiologie, Vegetationskunde, Biosoziologie, Biogeographie, Mikrobiologie (sofern nicht der Medizin zuzurechnen), Spezielle Botanik und Spezielle Zoologie (Systematik und Taxonomie), Ethologie, Naturschutz und Biologische Umweltforschung.

Im Jahr 2005 wurden die Senckenbergische und die Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek in eine Einrichtung zusammengeführt. Das Sondersammelgebiet Biologie, Botanik und Zoologie wurde seitdem von der Universitätsbibliothek Johann Christian Senckenberg betreut. Die Zahl der laufend gehaltenen Biologie-Zeitschriften betrug Mitte des Jahrzehnts etwa 3.500 (davon ca. 2.000 Kauf-Zeitschriften und ca. 1.500 über Schriftentausch bezogene Titel). Bei den Monographien lag der jährliche Zuwachs bei etwa 5.000 Titeln. Der in den Jahren 2007/2008 getätigte Teilankauf der Königlichen Gartenbibliothek Herrenhausen führte zu einer bedeutenden Ergänzung der historischen Bestände an botanischer Literatur.

Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Biologie: vifabio

Um die Zugänglichkeit der Sammlung Biologie zu erhöhen, wurde mit Förderung durch die DFG vifabio etabliert - die Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Biologie. In vifabio sind seit 2007 Katalogdaten, ausgewählte Internetquellen, Zeitschriften, Datenbanken und Volltextdokumente an einem virtuellen Ort vereint. Durch das DFG-Projekt Deutsche Botanische Zeitschriften (2011-2013) wurden mehr als 1.400 Bände aus dem Zeitraum 1753-1914 digitalisiert und erschlossen.

SAMMLUNG

Zurück zum Seitenanfang
zuletzt geändert am 6. April 2017

Kontakt

Dr. Gerwin Kasperek
Tel: 069/ 798-39365
g.kasperek@ub.uni-frankfurt.de
© 2017 Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main | Rechtliche Hinweise | Impressum