|  Ihr Konto  | myUB
Universitätsbibliothek » Music and Theatre - History of the Collections up to 1949

Music and Theatre - History of the Collections up to 1949

1. The Frankfurt City Library

In 1897, the Frankfurt City Library, which had been founded at the end of the 15th century, acquired its first larger collection of music-related items: the approximately 1,750 ecclesiastical music manuscripts and printed music, dating from the 17th and 18th centuries, from the archives of the church foundations Allgemeiner Almosenkasten and the Weißfrauen- und Katharinenstift.

Collection of cantata manuscripts
Collection of printed part books

In 1904, before the old city's theatre was torn down, the older Theatre Library's collection (494 units of opera material) was transferred to the Frankfurt City Library. In 1924, this was supplemented by additional opera material (274 units) from the city's theatre. In 1984 the Library obtained 168 opera pieces, 330 pieces of orchestral music, 132 pieces of incidental music and 20 pieces of ballet music from the city's theatre. The material of about 1,000 operas performance is now part of the collection.

Opera Collection
Collection of music-related items from the city's Performance Halls

2. The Rothschild Library

In 1888, Hannah-Louise von Rothschild founded a privately financed library, open to the public, which was meant both to serve scholars and to educate the general public. The works from several private libraries owned by the Rothschild family made up its core. At the time the library was founded, music and theatre were seen as niche topics, along with art history and modern European languages and their literature. Dr. Christian Berghoeffer (1859-1938) was appointed as the head librarian.

To expand the music collection, Berghoeffer acquired primarily source publications and series of memorial publications, as well as compendiums of a composer's complete works which private individuals would only rarely be able to afford (Orlando di Lasso, Händel, Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn, and others).

Due to inflation at the end of the 1920s, the foundation was no longer sufficient to support the Library and it was taken over by the City of Frankfurt.

3. Manskopf's Musico-Historical Museum

Beginning when he was just a pupil, the Frankfurt wine merchant Friedrich Nicolas Manskopf (1869-1928) had collected souvenirs related to musicians and actors, a habit which he continued during his stays abroad (1887-88 in Lyon, 1889-90 in London, 1891-93 in Paris). These souvenirs included autographs and letters; printed portraits; caricatures and photos; theatre and concert programmes; posters; and miscellaneous items, such as an umbrella belonging to Franz Liszt, and the water pitcher which once belonged to Beethoven and with which the musician was said to have cooled his hands after playing piano. In 1892 the collection included 15,000 pieces; two years later it had grown to comprise 30,000.

When Manskopf returned to Frankfurt in 1893, he set up a private museum in his own house, located at Untermainkai 27. He organised exhibits focussed on individual musicians and topics, and delivered items for music and theatre exhibitions held elsewhere. After his death in July 1928, his heirs donated this significant collection to the City of Frankfurt, which integrated it into the Rothschild Library.

COLLECTION

Zurück zum Seitenanfang
zuletzt geändert am 11. September 2017

Kontakt

Dr. Ann Kersting-Meuleman
Tel: 069/ 798-39245
a.b.kersting-meuleman@
ub.uni-frankfurt.de


Brigitte Klein
Sonja Pielat
Erzsébet Trautz
Tel. 069/ 798-39244
slg-musik-theater@ub.uni-frankfurt.de

Lesesaal Spezialsammlungen
Mo. - Fr. 10.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Tel.: 069/ 798-39398
ls-spezialsammlungen@ub.uni-frankfurt.de

Ausstellung

© 2017 Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main | Rechtliche Hinweise | Impressum

|  Ihr Konto  | myUB
Universitätsbibliothek » Musik und Theater - Geschichte der Sammlungen von den Anfängen bis 1949

Musik und Theater - Geschichte der Sammlungen bis 1949

1. Die Stadtbibliothek

1897 nahm die Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts gegründete Stadtbibliothek erstmals eine größere Sammlung von Musikalien auf: die rund 1750 kirchlichen Musikhandschriften und -drucke (17./18. Jh.) aus den Archiven des "Allgemeinen Almosenkastens" und des "Weißfrauen- und Katharinenstifts".
Sammlung Kantatenhandschriften
Sammlung Stimmbuchdrucke

1904 wurde vor dem Abriss des alten Schauspielhauses der Bestand der älteren Theaterbibliothek (494 Einheiten Opernmaterial) in die Stadtbibliothek überführt. 1924 kam weiteres Opernmaterial (274 Einheiten) von den Städtischen Bühnen dazu. 1984 wurden 168 Einheiten Oper; 330 Einheiten Orchestermusik; 132 Einheiten Schauspielmusik und 20 Einheiten Ballettmusik von den Städtischen Bühnen übernommen. Material zu rund 1000 Opern ist jetzt in der Sammlung enthalten.

Opernsammlung
Musikaliensammlung der Städtischen Bühnen

2. Die Rothschildsche Bibliothek

Hannah-Louise von Rothschild gründete 1888 eine öffentliche, privat finanzierte Bibliothek, die gleichermaßen der Wissenschaft und der Volksbildung dienen sollte. Den Grundbestand bildeten mehrere Privatbibliotheken der Familie Rothschild. Bei der Gründung galten die Bereiche Musik und Theater als Spezialfächer neben der Kunstgeschichte und den neueren europäischen Sprachen und Literaturen. Dr. Christian Berghoeffer (1859-1938) wurde zum leitenden Bibliothekar berufen.

Berghoeffer erwarb für das Fach Musik bevorzugt Quellenpublikationen und Denkmälerreihen (DDT, DTÖ, PäM) sowie Gesamtausgaben, die Privatpersonen sich nur ausnahmsweise kaufen konnten (Orlando di Lasso, Händel, Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn u. a.)

Wegen der Inflation Ende der zwanziger Jahre reichte das Stiftungsvermögen nicht mehr für die Finanzierung der Bibliothek aus. Sie ging in den Besitz der Stadt Frankfurt über.

3. Manskopfsches Musikhistorisches Museum

Der Frankfurter Weinhändler Friedrich Nicolas Manskopf (1869-1928) hatte schon als Schüler in Frankfurt und später während seiner Auslandsaufenthalte (1887-88 Lyon, 1889-90 London, 1891-93 Paris) begonnen, Erinnerungsstücke von Musikern und Schauspielern zu sammeln: Autogramme und Briefe, gedruckte Porträts, Karikaturen und Fotos, Theaterzettel, Konzertprogramme, Plakate und Kuriositäten wie die Wasserkanne aus dem Besitz Beethovens, mit der dieser sich angeblich nach dem Klavierspiel die Hände zu kühlen pflegte, oder ein Regenschirm von Franz Liszt. 1892 umfasste die Sammlung 15000, zwei Jahre später bereits 30000 Stücke.

Als Manskopf 1893 nach Frankfurt zurückkehrte, richtete er in seinem eigenen Haus (Untermainkai 27) ein privates Museum ein. Er veranstaltete Ausstellungen zu einzelnen Musikern bzw. Themen und lieferte Leihgaben für fremde Musik- und Theaterausstellungen. Nach seinem Tod im Juli 1928 schenkten seine Erben die bedeutende Sammlung der Stadt Frankfurt, die sie organisatorisch in die Rothschild-Bibliothek eingliederte.

SAMMLUNG



Literatur

Zurück zum Seitenanfang
zuletzt geändert am 12. September 2017

Kontakt

Dr. Ann Kersting-Meuleman
Tel: 069/ 798-39245
a.b.kersting-meuleman@
ub.uni-frankfurt.de


Brigitte Klein
Sonja Pielat
Erzsébet Trautz
Tel. 069/ 798-39244
slg-musik-theater@ub.uni-frankfurt.de

Lesesaal Spezialsammlungen
Mo. - Fr. 10.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Tel.: 069/ 798-39398
ls-spezialsammlungen@ub.uni-frankfurt.de

Ausstellung

© 2017 Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main | Rechtliche Hinweise | Impressum